Am I the only one that doesn’t consider OK Computer to be one of Radiohead’s best albums?

Am I the only one that doesn’t consider OK Computer to be one of Radiohead’s best albums?
Now, this might get downvoted into oblivion, but I’m not just trying to be a contrarian hipster. For me currently, I’d order their discography from favorite to least favorite as: In Rainbows > The Bends > Hail to the Thief > Amnesiac > Kid A > A Moon Shaped Pool > OK Computer > Pablo Honey > The King of Limbs. Usually my choices are accepted (maybe not the low placement of TKOL), but me putting OK Computer so low in my list makes some people that I talk to go insane. But I’m very genuine when I say that I just really don’t understand the acclaim.I didn’t always have a rocky relationship with this album. OK Computer was the first Radiohead album that I ever listened to back when I was 10 years old, when my brother loaded it onto my brand new iPod shuffle back in 2007. The first song that I ever listened to on that iPod shuffle was Subterranean Homesick Alien, and I remember being amazed. I only had that album on my iPod, and I would just shuffle it on repeat, day in and day out. I had no idea what the members of Radiohead looked like, I had no idea what their other albums sounded like, but I really really liked what I was hearing.That was until I discovered the glory of the internet and found the rest of their discography, including the brand new In Rainbows. Quickly, those albums took OK Computer’s place, and I found myself returning to that album less and less. But let me make this clear before I rant: it’s not that I dislike OK Computer, it’s just that I find it to be a very mixed bag.This will be the paragraph where I dish out all of my gripes. To me, OK Computer contains Radiohead’s highest highs and some of their lowest lows. For one, I’ve never really liked Paranoid Android as much as other people do…I acknowledge its importance and genius composition, but it’s never quite clicked with me in the same way that it has for so many other people. The opening section is nice, and the guitar solo is legendary, but the “rain down” section bores me, not to mention the outro section which sounds kind of corny with all of the envelope filtered guitar leads. I’ve always found the lyrics of Exit Music (For A Film) to be extremely cringe worthy and melodramatic, and I always find myself rolling my eyes at the end of Fitter Happier (“a pig in a cage on antibiotics”), because it sounds too forced and intentionally bleak. Also, it never felt like a good transition to me within the context of the album. It just sounds like a brick wall jammed right between Karma Police and Electioneering. In general, I’m not a huge fan of most of the second half of the album. Electioneering is a solid, albeit forgettable, rock song with a more memorable guitar breakdown. Climbing Up the Walls sounds like a simple three chord song blown way out of proportion by string sections, fuzz bass, reverberating atmospherics, and more overdramatic lyrics, and Lucky hasn’t ever resonated too much with me.However, all the songs that I haven’t mentioned yet, I absolutely love. Let Down, No Surprises, and The Tourist are all easily in my top 10 Radiohead songs, and Airbag, Karma Police and Subterranean Homesick Alien are great songs within the Radiohead cannon as well.I guess that my biggest complaint with OK Computer is that it sounds kind of dated and gimmicky. It’s hard to put my finger on why I feel this way, but it’s always kept me from truly loving this album. It sounds too glossy, too Muse-y, too jampacked with ideas to really translate. The bleak lyricism really resonated during the era in which OK Computer was released, but nowadays it seems a little bit too apocalyptic. There’s always the argument that the lyrics on OK Computer are even more relevant now than ever, but I think that they’re too specific to apply anywhere beyond their own time period. I don’t find as much beauty in this album as I do in their other albums, and it may be because of how externally focused everything is. Hail to the Thief has the same type of lyricism, but there’s a more mellow and nuanced tone that I just happen to enjoy a lot more.Hope that this post wasn’t too whiny or pretentious, I just am really curious to see if anyone else feels the same way that I do. Or…is there any other Radiohead album that you find overrated or have a hard time understanding? I’m curious, so let me know!
Hum Tv Dramas Lyrics 2015
Submitted by aquarium_drinker_1

Leave a Reply

