[All-American Rejects] The song “I Wanna” is sung from the perspective of a pedophile in prison.

[All-American Rejects] The song “I Wanna” is sung from the perspective of a pedophile in prison.
First, I’ll post abridged lyrics to the song with pertinent lines bolded, so that you’ll all be able to see what I’m referencing:I never thought that I was so blindI can finally see the truthIt’s me for youTonight you can’t imagine that I’m by your sideCuz it’s never gonna be the truthToo far for youBut can you hear me say?Don’t throw me awayAnd there’s no way outI gotta hold you somehow[CHORUS]I wanna I wanna I wanna touch youYou wanna touch me tooEveryday but all I have is timeOur love’s the perfect crime*I wanna I wanna I wanna touch youYou wanna touch me tooEvery way and when they set me freeJust put your hands on meNow, the song starts off in the band’s trademark bitter style; it just sounds like Tyson Ritter is singing about an adult lover who spurned him. It’s at lines 7-10 that we see the first hints. Don’t throw me away, there’s no way out. Both of these phrases evoke the concept of imprisonment.Then comes the chorus, in which Ritter says he wants to touch the object of his affections… but all he has is time. I believe this is because he’s serving a sentence. Here’s the real kicker – “our love’s the perfect crime”. Now, in a different context, this line could simply be cheeky and rebellious. But given what we’ve already read, I think describing their love as a crime was a deliberate choice. Later in the chorus Ritter says “And when they set me free, just put your hands on me.” By now you probably agree that this theory isn’t a stretch by any means.If you look through the remainder of the lyrics, not every line expressly supports this theory, but there’s certainly no evidence to the contrary either.In short? I’m onto you, Tyson Ritter.
Hum Tv Dramas Lyrics 2015
Submitted by destiny-jr

Leave a Reply

